Doctoral Office
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

FMHS Research & Internationalisation Development & Support (RIDS)

Tygerberg Doctoral Office

The Tygerberg Doctoral Office powers PhD studies in the Matie Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences - from proposal development to graduation day and success. Our campus is situated in the picturesque Tygerberg area of Cape Town, South Africa. Our faculty counts among the top 150 medical and health sciences schools in the world, and the top four ​in Africa. The office administers the examination of full research (100%) masters theses; facilitates the SU Pre-Doctoral Short Course in Medicine and Health Sciences; provides comprehensive support to all stakeholders in PhD studies; and provides a campus-based referral point for consolidocs, postdoctoral fellows, and their hosts. Our PhD Support pages contain detailed information on the different steps of the doctoral journey. A brief overview of these resources is available for download in brochure format. The detailed regulations that apply to doctoral students are captured in the SU Yearbook (Part 1 - General) as well as the FMHS Faculty Yearbook (Part 12 of the SU Yearbook).

Students completing a Research (100%) Master’s Degree in the FMHS will submit a thesis for examination to the Tygerberg Doctoral Office at email address Send a single mail with all the relevant attachments: the approved thesis, the Turnitin report, a signed release form, and if relevant, the approved rubric.

Read more ›

The Tygerberg Doctoral Office hosts the SU Pre-doctoral Short Course in Medicine and Health Sciences. A maximum of 40 students may enrol in the annual, in-person, 2-week block course. The course is tentatively planned for 15 July​ 2024. Please address enquiries to Dr Chanelle Windvogel (
Read more ›​​​​​​​

The Tygerberg Doctoral Office offers comprehensive support for FMHS doctoral studies, from the point of formal selection through review to submission for examination. Ms Brigitta Kepkey welcomes all queries about doctoral studies in this faculty at

Read more ›​​​​​

The Tygerberg Doctoral Office is one of seven FMHS offices for Research and Internationalisation Development and Support (RIDS). Click below to view our organogram.

Read more ›​​​​​

As the Tygerberg Doctoral Office team, we contribute to realising inclusive education; we practice collegiality; we champion full participation in SU activities by staff and students living with a disability; and we cap our own carbon footprint.

Read more ›​​​​​​​​​​