Welcome to Stellenbosch University

62nd Annual Academic Day – 29 August 2018


Members of the committee

Chair (Deputy-Dean: Research)                                                 

  • Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius

Deputy Chair                                                                                    

  • Dr Craig J Kinnear


  • Ms Sonja van Staden

Conference Organisers                                                                               

  • Ms Sune van Rooyen
  • Ms Christelle Snyman
  • Ms Hanri Klindt

Strategic Relations Manager                                                     

  • Ms Ronel Bester

Health Research Ethics Office                                                    

  • Dr Nicola Barsdorf

Undergraduate Research Office                                                   

  • Ms Debbie Marais

Student Representative                                                               

  • Ms Ilana van Niekerk / C Freitas

Representatives from all Departments and Type II Centres

Biomedical Sciences                                                                       

  • Dr Craig J Kinnear


  • Prof William F Ferris


Family and Emergency Medicine

  • Ms Rachel Allgaier

Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

  • Dr Linzette Morris

Global Health

  • Ms Yolande Smit  
  • Dr Kerrin Begg



  • Dr Colette Pienaar


  • Prof Dana JH Niehaus

Obstetrics and Gynaecology                                                       

  • Dr Judy Kluge
  • Dr Jennifer Butt

Centre for Health Professions Education               

  • Dr Lakshini McNamee

Paediatrics and Child Health                                                       

  • Dr Gugu Kali
  • Prof Adrie Bekker

Anaesthesiology and Critical Care                                            

  • Dr Sean Chetty

Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology                                 

  • Dr Tony Serafin

Surgical Sciences                                                                             

  • Prof Robert P Lamberts
  • Prof Ian Vlok
To register click here

To submit your abstract click here

Programme Details

To receive CPD points for Annual Academic Day 2019 attendance kindly register on the following link:


or scan the QR code

Follow the registration steps and print your unique bar coded ticket to be scanned at Annual Academic Day 2019.

PLEASE NOTE: No registration, no scanning = NO CPD points