​Division of Chemical Pathology



The Division of Chemical Pathology plays an important role in undergraduate teaching, and is actively involved with postgraduate training of pathology registrars, scientists, and Hons, MSc and PhD students. There is close collaboration with the Universities of Cape Town (UCT), Western Cape (UWC) and the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT). The division is also expanding its African footprint by collaborating with Kenya and Nigeria on multiple projects.


The Division is involved with lectures and practical rotations for MB,ChB  students, as well as lectures to student technologists. A short course was introduced in 2006 to prepare student technologists for their final examination. The Division co-ordinates "Essentials of Disease Processes" module for fist year MBChB students.


The Division has attracted students from CPUT (Cape Peninsula University of Technology) and has supervised 6 PhD students and 8 MSc students and 7 Honours students during 2012.  In addition, the Division supervised 3 registrars (2 MMed Chemical Pathology  and 1 MMed Clinical Pathology). During 2012, the first supernumery Chemical Pathology registrar  joined the department.  A joint teaching platform with the Department of Chemical Pathology at the University of Cape Town has been established to encourage joint postgraduate modules, tutorials and lectures for postgraduate students.

The Division contributed to the development of a new HonsBSc programme in Pathology, and to the development of postgraduate modules in Molecular Pathology and Laboratory Management.
The Division is involved with the College of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA) in reviewing the postgraduate programmes and assessment of registrars.