Doctoral Office
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​​Research Development and Support

​Tygerberg Doctoral Office

Committee for Postgraduate Research

The Committee for Postgraduate Research (CPR) considers research-related matters on behalf of the FMHS, for approval by Senate (the highest academic body of the university) upon recommendation by the Faculty Board. This includes the appointment of supervisors and examiners for research degrees and the approval of doctoral research proposals and project titles.​

The 2022 CPR meeting dates and agenda cut-off dates are as follows:

​C​PR 2022 Meetin​​g​s

Agenda c​loses at twelve noon / 12:00

CPR Meeting via Teams Thursdays at 2pm / 14:00

12 Jan 27 January
7 March
17 March
27 May 9 June
21 Sept 6 O​c​tober

These dates also appear on the FMHS almanac along with other critical dates and deadlines. 

Membership: The Vice Dean: Research is chairperson of the CPR. The head of the Tygerberg Doctoral Office is the secretariate. Ex officio membership is awarded to the FMHS Dean, the Vice Dean: Learning and Teaching, the chairperson of the Tygerberg Postgraduate Student Representative Council, the deputy registrar, and the head of the HREC.

CPR representation is determined by the postgraduate research productivity of each academic department. Any member of a department as nominated by the HoD may serve on the CPR. Membership comes with the obligation to serve on review committees.

Click here​ for a current list of CPR members. Kindly email any changes with regard to representation on the CPR directly to Prof Gey van Pittius ( and copy Dr Liela Groenewald at​

Note: Initial application and selection into the PhD programme occurs via the new SunStudent central online application system. The acceptance of a student's project and title cannot be processed at the CPR if a candidate has entered the programme without formal acceptance by Stellenbosch University. 

The approval of a PhD research project title and proposal is placed on the agenda via the clearance letter from the relevant Ethics committee.

All candidates must apply for ethics clearance within five months from admission / selection for the programme. 

The nomination of examiners is placed on the agenda via departmental postgraduate committee reports. Departmental reports in S​enate format​ may be submitted to Ms Megan Jantjies by email to, and copied to​.

The approval of PhD results is placed on the agenda for the consecutive graduation series once the final supervisor report, final dissertation, and list of corrections have reached the Tygerberg Doctoral Office. Supervisor reports may be prepared in advance of the oral, so that only edits necessitated by the oral remain. The final supervisor report, final dissertation and notice of corrections, all in PhD format, may be attached to an email to (only this address) directly after the oral presentation. 

New PhD programmes and other yearbook entries or edits are placed on the agenda via departmental postgraduate committees. Please note the turnaround time from CPR submission to yearbook inclusion is more than a year, as a result of the different levels of scrutinisation and approval. As the yearbook is published once per annum, earlier submission will not expedite the process. Yearbook items may be submitted in October or November for inclusion in the agenda of a January meeting of the CPR, leading to a yearbook entry in the following academic year. 

New matters for discussion may be brought to the attention of Dr Liela Groenewald by email to

Please send all submissions sooner rather than later, as these cut-off dates lead tightly into bi-annual graduation deadlines set by the highest academic governing body, the SU Senate.​​​