Biomedical Sciences
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Department of Biomedical Sciences​

The Department of Biomedical Sciences has its origin in the amalgamation of Clinical Anatomy, Immunology, Medical Physiology and Molecular Biology and Human Genetics.

Academics in Clinical Anatomy lecture to all undergraduate students at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences in addition to specialist groups (MMed, MChD, and private students/psychologists) receiving postgraduate instruction in neuroanatomy, general anatomy for orthopaedics, radiodiagnosis, and radiation oncology training. On the research front, post-graduate students delve into the mysteries of Physical Anthropology, Comparative Anatomy, Human Anatomical Variation, Surgical Anatomy.

The Division of Medical Physiology not only lectures medical and allied health science students at pre- and postgraduate level on the normal functioning and mechanism of interaction of biological systems of the body but are also actively involved in research.
Molecular Biology and Human Genetics is a research division focusing primarily on TB research and inherited genetic abnormalities and trains primarily postgraduate students and post-doctoral fellows.

Biomedical Sciences is situated in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences' Biomedical Research Institute (BMRI).  A number of important research units fall under this department amongst others the MRC Centre for Molecular and Cellular Biology, the Cardiology Research Group, the NRF Niche Area for Research in Cardiovascular Pathophysiology, the Stellenbosch University Reproductive Research Group and the laboratory component of the Anxiety and Stress Disorders Research Unit.