Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Department of Medicine

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Division of Pulmonology​ 

The Division is part of the Department of Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of Stellenbosch University, Tygerberg Campus. We offer one of the most comprehensive range of pulmonology services in South Africa. We also run the medical intensive care service for Tygerberg Academic Hospital. We are actively involved in postgraduate teaching in internal medicine and Pulmonology/Critical Care. 


Head: Div​ision of Pulmonology

Prof. E. Irusen

MBChB (Natal), FCP (SA), Cert Pulm (SA), PhD (Natal)

+27 21 938 3074



Research Fields: Asthma, COPD, HIV & the lung, Institial lung disease

Fields of Expertise: Asthma, COPD

Other personnel

Consultant/Senior Specialist

Prof CFN Koegelenberg

MBChB (SU), MMed (Int), FCP (SA), FRCP (UK), Cert Pulm (SA), PhD

+27 21 938 9243




Research Fields: Lung cancer diagnosis and screening, Pleural diseases, Interventional pulmonology; Smoking cessation

Fields of Expertise: Lung cancer, pleural disease, Interventional pulmonology, Haemoptysis

Consultant/Senior Specialist

Dr U Lalla

MBBCh (UCT), MRCP (UK), Mmed (Int), FCP(SA), Cert Critical Care (SA)

+27 21 938 5568


Research Fields: Critical care, Internal medicine, infectious disease

Fields of Expertise: Critical Care

Consultant/Senior Specialist

Prof B Allwood

MBBCh (Wits) DCH (SA) DA(SA) FCP(SA) MPH(UCT) Cert Pulm(SA) PhD(UCT)

+27 21 938 9247



Research Fields: Pulmonary Hypertension, Post TB lung disease, Pulmonary Vascular Diseases

Fields of Expertise: Post TB lung disease, Pulmonary Hypertension, Pulmonary Vascular Diseases, Haemoptysis; interstitial lung diseases and chronic thromboembolic pulmonary hypertension (CTEPH)

Sub –Specialty Registrars:

Dr Andre Nortje 
Dr Darryl Boy
Dr Raisa Bhikoo

In addition, we have - medical registrars who rotate through the Pulmonology and Critical Care fields within Division for 3 month periods.

  • Our team of medical technologists is led by Mr Francois Swart.
  • Nursing personnel are headed by Sr H van Schalkwyk
  • Bronchoscopy and Thoracoscopy theatres are headed by Mr C Masela

Hospital Contact

  • Mr Morne Stoffels (A5)
    021 938 5776
    021 938 4666
  • Ms Anastasia Strydom (OPD clinic)
    021 938 5524
  • Physical Address
    A5, Tygerberg Academic Hospital, Tygerberg
  • Postal Address
    P O Box 241, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa​