Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Department of Medicine

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Division of Cardiology 

The Division of Cardiology is an integral component of the Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University. The clinical activities are centred around the Cardiac Unit of Tygerberg Hospital that includes a 25-bed coronary care unit, a cardiac catheterisation laboratory, an echocardiography laboratory and an outpatient clinic. We offer a full range of cardiac services and take pride in our involvement in cardiology training.

Head: Div​ision of Cardiology

Dr Pecoraro

Special Interests / Research Projects

  • Rheumatic Heart Disease
  • Valvular disease, particularly percutaneous treatment
  • Infective endocarditis
  • Pericardial disease
  • Myocarditis
  • HIV and the heart
  • Cardiac imaging
  • Electrophysiology program
  • ECHO
  • ​PHD projects​


SUNHEART is a centre of Stellenbosch University seated within the Division of Cardiology that generates funds to promote cardiology training and research and to extend cardiac services to previously disadvantaged communities. Our business plan is built on project-specific funding and we invest in infrastructure, human resources and an outreach programme to enable us to deliver cost-effective service, train more health care workers and improve research output. The SUNHEART motto is “Advanced cardiac care for all”.


The SUNHEART outreach pro​gramme is structured as a Hub-and-Spoke model, the hub being Tygerberg Hospital, reaching out to the satellite centres established at Helderberg Hospital, Karl Bremer Hospital, Khayelitsha Hospital, Paarl Hospital and Worcester Hospital.

Meet the staff​

Medical Staff

  • Dr A Pecoraro: Consultant Cardiologist/ Head of Division –
  • Prof A Doubell - Emeritus Professor –
  • Dr H Weich – Consultant Cardiologist – 
  • Dr P Herbst: Consultant Cardiologist –
  • Dr J Moses: Consultant Cardiologist and Electrophysiologist –
  • Dr L Joubert: Consultant Cardiologist
  • Dr H Cyster: Medical Officer (Echocardiography)
  • Dr T Chipamaunga: Senior Registrar
  • Dr J Liebenberg: Senior Registrar
  • Dr J Doubell: Senior Registrar
  • Dr A Mazaza: Senior Registrar
  • Dr S Sibeko: Senior Registrar
  • Dr S Karamchand: Senior Registrar
  • Dr A Esmail: Senior Registrar​


  • Mr J Steyn – Technologist Assistant Director
  • Miss S Subramoney – Head Technologist
  • Miss H Claasens - Technologist
  • Mrs L Golding- Technologist
  • Mr K Moodley – Technologist
  • Miss T Titus - Technologist
  • Mr T Monakalali – Student Technologist
  • Miss E Hugo – Student Technologist 

Nursing personnel

  • Sr Slambie - Head of Coronary Care Unit
  • Sr K November - Head of Cardiology Catheterisation Laboratory  
  • Sr N Gray - Head of outpatients


Research Staff

  • Dr E Ngarande: Research Coordinator
  • Dr P Robbertse: Post Doctorate
  • Dr A Talle: PhD candidate
  • Dr M Rajah: PhD candidate
  • Miss Kalcey Dreyer: Research Assistant



Contact D​​​etails​

  • Secretary: Ylana Waller
    +27 21 938 4400​
  • Physical address:
    Division of ​Cardiology,
    C-passage, 8th floor,
    Tygerberg Hospital
  • Postal address:
    Stellenbosch University
    Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
    Division of Cardiology
    PO Box 241
    Cape Town
    South Africa