Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​​Department of Medicine

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Division of Cardiology

The Division of Cardiology is an integral component of the Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University. The clinical activities are centred around the Cardiac Unit of Tygerberg Hospital that includes a 25-bed coronary care unit, a cardiac catheterisation​ laboratory, an echocardiography laboratory and an outpatient clinic. We offer a full range of cardiac services and take pride in our involvement in cardiology training.​


SUNHEART is a centre of Stellenbosch University seated within the Division of Cardiology that generates funds to promote cardiology training and research and to extend cardiac services to previously disadvantaged communities. Our business plan is built on project-specific funding and we invest in infrastructure, human resources and an outreach programme to enable us to deliver cost-effective service, train more health care workers and improve research output. The SUNHEART motto is “Advanced cardiac care for all”.​