Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Department of Medicine

Division of Dermatology


The division of dermatology is dedicated to the diagnosis and treatment of skin, scalp, hair and nail diseases.
It is a unique specialty with both medical and surgical aspects.

We render a full dermatological service to the local community and the draining area of Tygerberg hospital.

We are involved in outreach projects and run a monthly clinic at Worcester hospital.

The division of dermatology is active in the teaching of medical students in their fourth and fifth years as well as the full time training of registrars in Dermatology.

Dermatology is a 4 years full time specialty after you have qualified as a doctor.

The division is also very active in research and has a dynamic academic programme which also involves the private dermatologists in the Western Cape.



Head: Dr. W.I. Visser
Qualifications: MBChB; MFamMed; MMed (Derm); Senior Specialist
Tel: +27 21 938 9322/9139
Fax: +27 21 931 7442

Contact Person: Secretary - Miema Murray
Tel: +27 21 938 9139
Fax: +27 21 932 9071

Consultant: Prof H F Jordaan
Qualifications: MB, ChB, MMed (Derm), M.AKAD.SA, Associate Professor
Tel: +27 21 938 9486 / 938 5429
Fax: +27 21 932 9870
Part time Consultants: Dr. Edgar Swart & Dr S Kannenberg

Registrars: Dr S Fakir; Dr J du Toit; Dr C Mathobela; Dr B Tod; Dr A Parker; Dr L van Deventer;  S Patel