Medicine and Health Sciences
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Transformation at the FMHS

Stellenbosch University's (SU) Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS) strives to build an institutional culture that welcomes, develops and supports a diverse body of students and staff. As a dynamic entity, we have often led the way in expressing our commitment to transformation. We believe that the facilitation of a journey toward positive transformation represents our espousal of the values presented to us in the South African Constitution. 

We have built a strong reputation of advancing health and equality over the past few decades and we will continue to play a leadership role underpinned by our commitment to transformation in this regard. 

In 2016, we established the Dean's Advisory Committee on Transformation (DACT), which comprises students, staff and representatives of the Western Cape Department of Health. The DACT has established a number of initiatives with the view to creating inclusive, fair and welcoming environments across our faculty's teaching, learning and work platforms. Examples include the Equality Champions and our Faculty Charter.