Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Welcome to the Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science is respected within South Africa, Africa and the international academic arena as an important knowledge-partner that plays an active role in the development of South African society.

The Faculty of Science has eight departments, as well as several world-renowned centres with excellent facilities and established research groups. We offer training at the undergraduate level in the physical, biological and mathematical sciences, to our own students and to students registered in the Faculties of Medicine and Health Sciences, Engineering, AgriSciences, Economics and Management Sciences.

Approximately 30% of our students are postgraduates and we confer a large number of research master’s and doctoral degrees each year. We focus strongly on the publication of our research outputs in international journals of high standing, and make use of National Research Foundation (NRF) ratings as a guide to the recognition of our staff in their respective fields.​​

The Faculty of Science works with the Department of Science and Technology and numerous other institutions to promote and encourage awareness of the importance of science and technology among society and in our schools. We also contributes to social capacity and the development of people through the establishment of partnerships with schools and science teachers.

Fot the Faculty guideline criteria fpr the appointment and/or promotion of academic staff, click here.