Earth Sciences
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Contact us


Head of Department: Prof. Alex Kisters

Departmental Secretary: Ms Gillian Strydom

Department Phone Number: +27 21 808 3219

Department Fax Number: +27 21 808 3129

email: gstrydom at

Physical Address:

Geology, Kamer Van Mynwese (Chamber of Mines Building)
Cnr Ryneveld and Merriman Streets

Stellenbosch, South Africa

Postal Address:

Department of Earth Sciences

Stellenbosch University

Private Bag X1

7602 Matieland, South Africa


embed google map
Download Maps:

Faculty of Science Campus Map

Google Map


GPS coordinates:  latitude 33.9316156 S and longitude 18.8586398 E

See Staff page for complete list of academic and support staff members as well as current students