Earth Sciences
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Academic Staff

 

 

Biogeochemistry, Marine Geochemistry, Environmental GeochemistryProfessor Alakendra Roychoudhury (Head of Department)Biogeochemistry, Marine Geochemistry, Environmental Geochemistryroy@sun.ac.za+27 21 808 3124+27 (0)21 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/prof-roychoudhury-(hod), website Prof. Roychoudhury
Structural Geology and Tectonics, Economic Geology, Field GeologyProfessor Alexander Kisters (Deputy Head of Earth Sciences)Structural Geology and Tectonics, Economic Geology, Field Geologyakisters@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3113(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/prof-alex-kisters, website Prof. Kisters
Igneous Petrogenesis, Crustal Melting, Experimental PetrologyProfessor JD ClemensIgneous Petrogenesis, Crustal Melting, Experimental Petrologyjclemens@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3159(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/prof-jd-clemens, website Prof. Clemens
Metamorphic Petrology, Mineral Trace Element Geochemistry, U/Pb geochronology, Light Isotope GeochemistryProfessor Ian BuickMetamorphic Petrology, Mineral Trace Element Geochemistry, U/Pb geochronology, Light Isotope Geochemistrybuick@sun.ac.za+27-(0)21-808-3128(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/prof-ian-buick, website Prof. Buick
Granite Petrogenesis, Experimental Petrology, Metamorphic PetrologyProfessor Gary Stevens (SARChI Professor, Director Central Analytical Facility)Granite Petrogenesis, Experimental Petrology, Metamorphic Petrologygs@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3127(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/prof-gary-stevens, website Prof. Stevens
Metamorphic PetrologyDr René Heyn (Lecturer)Metamorphic Petrologyrheyn@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3116(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/dr-rene-heyn, website Dr. Heyn
Biogeochemistry in aquatic systems, Environmental Geochemistry, Paleoenvironment, Global ChangeDr. Susanne Fietz (Senior Lecturer)Biogeochemistry in aquatic systems, Environmental Geochemistry, Paleoenvironment, Global Changesfietz@sun.ac.za+27-21-808-3117 +27-21-808-3129 http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/dr-susanne-fietz, website Dr. Fietz
Igneous PetrologyDr Martin Klausen (Senior Lecturer)Igneous Petrologyklausen@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3825(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/dr-martin-klausen, website Dr. Klausen
Isotope Geochemistry, Metamorphic and Igneous Petrology, Large Igneous Provinces, Bushveld Geology, Isotope Hydrology, Water ResourcesDr Jodie Miller (Senior Lecturer)Isotope Geochemistry, Metamorphic and Igneous Petrology, Large Igneous Provinces, Bushveld Geology, Isotope Hydrology, Water Resourcesjmiller@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3121(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/dr-jodie-miller, website Dr. Miller
Sedimentology, PalaeontologyDr Ryan Tucker (Lecturer)Sedimentology, Palaeontologytucker@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3522(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/dr-ryan-tucker, website Dr. Tucker
Economic GeologyDr Bjorn van der Heyden (Lecturer)Economic Geologybvon@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3122(021) 808 3129http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-and-support-staff/academic-staff/dr-bjorn-von-der-heyden, website Dr. von der Heyden