Earth Sciences
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Academic Staff

 

 

Metamorphic Petrology, Mineral Trace Element Geochemistry, U/Pb geochronology, Light Isotope GeochemistryProfessor Ian BuickMetamorphic Petrology, Mineral Trace Element Geochemistry, U/Pb geochronology, Light Isotope Geochemistrybuick@sun.ac.za+27-(0)21-808-3128http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/prof-ian-buick, website Prof. Buick
Igneous Petrogenesis, Crustal Melting, Experimental Petrology Professor JD ClemensIgneous Petrogenesis, Crustal Melting, Experimental Petrology jclemens@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3159http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/prof-jd-clemens, website Prof. Clemens
Biogeochemistry in aquatic systems, Environmental Geochemistry, Paleoenvironment, Global Change Dr. Susanne Fietz (Senior Lecturer)Biogeochemistry in aquatic systems, Environmental Geochemistry, Paleoenvironment, Global Change sfietz@sun.ac.za+27-21-808-3117 http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/dr-susanne-fietz, website Dr. Fietz
Geochronology (U-Pb, Pb-Pb) EconomicDr René Heyn (Lecturer)Geochronology (U-Pb, Pb-Pb) Economicrheyn@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3116http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/dr-rene-heyn, website Dr. Heyn
Structural Geology and Tectonics, Economic Geology, Field GeologyProfessor Alexander Kisters (Head of Earth Sciences)Structural Geology and Tectonics, Economic Geology, Field Geologyakisters@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3113http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/prof-alex-kisters, website Prof. Kisters
Igneous PetrologyDr Martin Klausen (Senior Lecturer)Igneous Petrologyklausen@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3825http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/dr-martin-klausen, website Dr. Klausen
Isotope Geochemistry, Metamorphic and Igneous Petrology, Large Igneous Provinces, Bushveld Geology, Isotope Hydrology, Water ResourcesDr Jodie Miller (Senior Lecturer)Isotope Geochemistry, Metamorphic and Igneous Petrology, Large Igneous Provinces, Bushveld Geology, Isotope Hydrology, Water Resourcesjmiller@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3121http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/dr-jodie-miller, website Dr. Miller
Biogeochemistry, Marine Geochemistry, Environmental GeochemistryProfessor Alakendra RoychoudhuryBiogeochemistry, Marine Geochemistry, Environmental Geochemistryroy@sun.ac.za+27 21 808 3124http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/prof-roychoudhury-(hod), website Prof. Roychoudhury
Granite Petrogenesis, Experimental Petrology, Metamorphic PetrologyProfessor Gary Stevens (SARChI Professor, Director Central Analytical Facility)Granite Petrogenesis, Experimental Petrology, Metamorphic Petrologygs@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3127http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/prof-gary-stevens, website Prof. Stevens
Sedimentology, PalaeontologyDr Ryan Tucker (Lecturer)Sedimentology, Palaeontologytucker@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3522http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/dr-ryan-tucker, website Dr. Tucker
Economic geologyDr Bjorn von der Heyden (Lecturer)Economic geologybvon@sun.ac.za(021) 808 3122http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/science/earthsciences/staff-and-postgrads/academic-staff/dr-bjorn-von-der-heyden, website Dr. von der Heyden