Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Department of Medicine

Division of Nephrology


The Division is part of the Department of Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of Stellenbosch University, Tygerberg Campus.  Our clinical services are based at the Renal Unit of Tygerberg Hospital (Ward A7).  We manage a satellite haemodialysis unit at Worcester Hospital and we also have patients dialysed at several private centres via public-private initiatives. A full range of services are offered including haemo- and peritoneal dialysis, and renal transplantation. We are actively involved in postgraduate teaching in internal medicine and nephrology, including the training of fellows from outside South Africa. Research is a very important part of our work. Our publications can be accessed via the Google Scholar or Scopus profiles of our senior staff (links below).




Head: Prof M R Davids
Tel: (27) - (0)21- 938 9044


Ward A7
Tel:  021-938 5791


Other staff

Our team of medical technologists is led by Jonathan Maree ( and the nursing personnel is headed by Sr Jennifer Juta.


Special Interests / Research Projects

  • Postgraduate teaching
  • Electrolyte and acid-base disorders
  • Epidemiology of chronic kidney disease


Google Scholar and Scopus profiles

Contact Details

Tel:  021-9389044

Physical address:  Ward A7 Renal Unit, Tygerberg Hospital, Tygerberg

Postal address:
Stellenbosch University
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Division of Nephrology
PO Box 241
Cape Town
South Africa