Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Department of Medicine

​​​​​​​​​​​ Division of Haematology​ 

The unit is a division of the Department of Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of Stellenbosch University, Tygerberg Campus.

We work very closely with the Department of Haematopathology and interact regularly on clinical matters as well as teaching and research. 

Our services are based at Tygerberg Hospital. Outpatients are treated at the Haematology clinic,Gene Louw  Building  and inpatients are managed in ward D8 .The unit boasts a 8 bedded special care unit with 4 single room isolation rooms. The entire spectrum of haematological disorders are managed by the team.

We are actively involved in both undergraduate and postgraduate teaching as well as research.

Head: Div​ision of Haematology

Dr. F. Bassa

+27 21 938 5888



  • Consultant: Dr .G.Sissolak:
  • Senior registrar: Dr.D. Kotze:​
  • Clinical trial co ordinator: Dr.Linda Stephens
  • 3 medical registrars and a haematopathology registrar rotate through the division on a 3 monthly basis

Contact D​​​etails​

  • +27 21 938 5888 / 5403
    +27 21 938 8970
  • Physical address:
    Haematology Unit,
    Gene Louw Building,

    Tygerberg Hospital
  • Postal address:
    Stellenbosch University
    Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
    Division of Haematology
    Private Bag X3
    Parow Valley
    Cape Town
    South Africa