Centre for Teaching and Learning
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Awards for lecturers


Institutions that have an ethos of excellence share the distinguishing characteristic that they offer various levels and forms of recognition for excellent performance. Stellenbosch University (SU) is currently doing this through the following processes:


Participation in the National HELTASA award of Teaching Excellence

These awards are an opportunity to value the reflective, contextually aware teaching that happens across our diverse sector.  Candidates (individuals or teams), are nominated in one of two categories, are nominated by their institutions and have to prepare a comprehensive portfolio. More information on this award can be found on the awards page of the HELTASA website.  ​

We are very proud of the following winners from Stellenbosch University.  We encourage you to have conversations with them about best teaching practice.
*Please contact us if the information below is incomplete.

Name:  Prof Susan van Schalkwyk (award winner)
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2018
Department:  Centre of Health Professions Education 
Faculty:  Faculty of Medicine and Health Science

Susan van Schalkwyk.JPG

Name:  Prof Nuraan Davids (commendee) 
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2017
Department:  Education Policy Studies
Faculty:  Education

Nuraan Davids.jpg 

See an interview with Prof Davids here for more about teaching excellence and compiling a teaching portfolio.

Name:  Marianne McKay (award winner) 
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2015
Department:  Viticulture and oenology
Faculty:  AgriSciences

Name:  Prof Robert Pattman (commendee) 
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2014
Department:  Sociology and Social Anthropology
Faculty:  Arts and Social Sciences

Name:  Prof Elmarie Costandius (award winner) 
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2013 
Department:  Visual Arts
Faculty:  Arts and Social Sciences


Name: Prof Ed Jacobs (commendee) 
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2013 
Department:  Chemistry and Polymer Science
Faculty:  Science


Name:  Prof Geo Quinot (award winner) 
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2012
Department:  Public Law
Faculty:  Law
Name:  Mr Len Steenkamp (award winner) 
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2011

Department:  Accounting
Faculty:  Economic and Management Sciences
Name:  Prof David Holgate (commendee)
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2011

Department:  Mathematical Sciences
Faculty:  Science
Name:  Prof Ben van Heerden (winner)
HELTASA excellence awards 2010
Department:  Centre for Health Professions Education
Faculty:  Medicine and Health Sciences

Name:  Prof Ronel Carolissen (commendee)
HELTASA Teaching excellence awards 2009
Department:  Educational Psychology
Faculty:  Education


The very distinguished Chancellor's award

 This award focusses on sustained excellence in research, in learning and teaching, or in community interaction (or more than one of these three areas). Candidates are nominated by deans and heads of responsibility centres (RCs). The submissions need to be supported by an appropriate motivation that sets out the nominee's achievements, as well as by a portfolio that gives a clear indication of the nominee's contributions and outputs.


Institutional award for excellence in teaching

In the report of the Task Team for the Promotion and Recognition of Teaching, which was adopted by Senate in June 2015, it is recommended that more be done to recognise teaching excellence at institutional level at SU. The suggested vehicle for such recognition of teaching excellence is "a number of dedicated internal institutional awards that specifically acknowledge teaching achievements, with the HELTASA awards as an important point of reference." In response to this recommendation a document was compiled suggesting a plan for the implementation of an institutional award focusing exclusively on excellence in teaching in 2017.

Please visit the following page for information:  click here


First-Year Achievement Awards

The First-Year Achievement Awards aims to recognise lecturers who had a positive influence on the academic experience of first year students.  Visit the First-Year Achievement Awards page to see which lecturers have won the award during previous years.