Centre for Teaching and Learning
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
TLA Awards & Fellowships web banners.png


SU is committed to recognizing the importance of teaching, learning, & assessment (TLA) as part of the professional learning of academics. The CTL makes available various opportunities for the promotion of research and innovation in TLA. SU and higher education nationally also offers academics several opportunities for the recognition of outstanding TLA.

The First Year Achievement Awards​ is held in the first semester of each year.  The First-Year Achievement Awards aim to recognize lecturers who have had a positive influence on the academic experience of first-year students. It also recognizes top-performing first-year students within each faculty. 

The Teaching Awards (previously the Teaching Excellence Awards) acknowledges eminent TLA at an institutional level and offers lecturers and management an opportunity to value reflective and contextually aware teaching. All teaching staff—permanent as well as contract appointments—are eligible for these awards.

The National University Teaching Awards (NUTA), which have replaced the CHE/HELTASA Teaching Excellence Awards, recognizes and rewards reflective, critical, and contextually aware TLA across the diverse South African higher education sector. ​

The national TAU Fellowship Programme is a nationwide intervention for mid- to senior-level academic staff. It seeks to advance the teaching quality and professionalization of teaching and learning in the public higher education sector. 

The SU Teaching Fellowships are a UCDP project. It offers eminent academics with a track record of involvement with TLA and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, an opportunity to develop their teaching expertise, and to stimulate the growth of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning at the University.