Centre for Teaching and Learning
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
TLA Awards & Fellowships web banners.png


SU is committed to recognizing the importance of teaching, learning & assessment as part of the professional learning of academics. The CTL makes available various opportunities for the promotion of research and innovation in teaching and learning.

The First Year Achievement Awards​ is held in the first semester each year where first-year students from the previous year are awarded for excellent performance in their faculty. Each of the students nominates a lecturer whom they feel influenced them towards their academic success.

The Teaching Awards (previously the Teaching Excellence Awards) acknowledges excellent teaching at an institutional level and offers lecturers and management an opportunity to value reflective and contextually-aware teaching. All teaching staff - permanent as well as contract appointments - are eligible for these awards.

The National University Teaching Awards (NUTA) which have replaced the CHE/HELTASA Teaching Excellence Awards, recognizes and rewards reflective, critical, and contextually aware teaching across the diverse South African higher education sector. ​

The national TAU Fellowship Programme is a nationwide intervention, which seeks to advance the teaching quality and professionalization of teaching and learning in the public higher education sector. It seeks to build on the professional development of a cohort of mid-to senior-level academic staff from varying disciplines over a 19-month programme, involving block week contact sessions, individual projects, group projects, and reflective reports.

The Teaching Fellowship is a prestigious award which takes this one step further and is awarded to academics who are interested in more rigorous teaching research and innovation.