Medical Physiology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Division Medical Physiology


The Division of Medical Physiology is responsible for all the undergraduate physiology teaching of the MBChB degree programme. This involves approximately 170 contact sessions of physiology teaching per year carried out by 8 lecturers. The Division of Medical Physiology was an important contributor to the FMHS renewed MBChB curriculum that rolled out in 2022. In the MBChB I academic year, our Division is responsible for teaching principles of physiology in the Being and Becoming in Healthcare module, followed by the Form and Function module in the second semester where the bulk of human physiology is taught. The Division also involved in the Health and Wellness module of MBChB III. The Division also manages practical teaching in these modules where appropriate.​​