Medical Physiology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Division of Medical Physiology

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​BSc Dietetics, BSc Physiotherapy, Bachelor of Nursing and Midwifery, Bachelor of Occupational Health: 

​​The Division of Medical Physiology provides human physiology teaching in several service modules to the Division of Human Nutrition, the Division of Physiotherapy, the Division of Occupational Health and the Department of Nursing and Midwifery. Three human physiology modules cater for 1st and 2nd year students from these divisions: Human Physiology 171, Essentials of Human Physiology 271 and Fundamentals of Physiology 278. These modules cover all physiological systems in sufficient detail to provide the student with an understanding of how the different parts of the body work, the ability to read and understand the physiological literature (textbooks etc.) and the ability to acquire additional applied physiological information, to understand it, and place it in proper context. ​