Centre for Teaching and Learning
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

About us

​​​​​​​​​​​The division is grouped under the centre of responsibility of the Vice-Chancellor: Learning and Teaching.

The Centre for Teaching and Learning forms part of a broader collective referred to as the Division for Learning and Teaching Enhancement.  We work collaboratively in this division with three other centres: the Language Centre, the Centre for Learning and Teaching TechnologiesCentre for Academic Planning and Quality Assurance and the Hybrid Learning project​. The CTL as a core member of the Division for Learning and Teaching Enhancement, supports all SU strategic teaching and learning initiatives. Other internal partners of the Centre for Teaching and Learning are the faculties and their lecturers for whom we provide professional learning opportunities for their teaching role, as well as the various committees relating to teaching and learning, such as the Committee for Learning and Teaching (a sub-committee of senate).

Giving to othe​rs

Patch.jpg PATCH Helderberg​

PATCH / Helderberg Child Abuse Centre
 supports all child victims of sexual abuse in the Helderberg area of Cape Town, South Africa and strives to prevent the incidence of this horrific crime committed against innocent children.  

CTL staff donated giftboxes used to support child victims during their recovery process.

​​  Should you wish to find out more or support PATCH, please visit:  PATCH Helderberg

Child Welfare Stellenbosch.jpg

Child Welfare South Africa:  Stellenbosch​​

Child Welfare SAStellenbosch's mission is to promote, protect and enhance the safety, wellbeing and healthy development of children and families in Stellenbosch.

CTL staff donated goodies for babies after reading an article in the Eikestad News.

 ​​ Should you wish to find out more or support Child Welfare SA Stellenbosch, please visit their facebook page.

​In the photograph above (from the left):  Celeste from Child Welfare, Bettie Nieuwoudt (Director:  Child Welfare SA:  Stellenbosch) and the following staff members from CTL:  Jo-Wene Michaels, Sharlene Kleinsmith, Anthea Jacobs, Ilke Gideons, Roshnique Daniels, Veronica Beukes, Natasha Alberts, Melanie Petersen, Farrel Kleinsmith and Nothemba Nqayi.

SSVO1_10.jpgBruckner de Villiers

The Centre for Student Counselling & Development (​​​CSCD) and CTL donated chairs to the Bruckner de Villiers primary school situated in Hector street in Idasvallei.