Department of Psychiatry

Heads of Clinical Units

​Clinical Services, Stikland Hospital​

Prof Liezl Koen
MBChB, MMed (Psych), PhD 

Tel: ​​021 940 8718/4455​

Prof Koen is a senior specialist and associate professor. She is also the head of clinical services at Stikland Hospital. Her interests include schizophrenia, emergency psychiatry and psychopharmacology.

Adult Psychiatric Services, Tygerberg Hospital ​

Prof Gerhard Jordaan
MBChB, FCPsych (PR), MMed (Psych), DMed

Tel: 021 938 9489
Fax: 021 938 9738
Email: ​​

Prof Jordaan is a psychiatrist, clinical head of the adult psychiatric unit at Tygerberg Hospital, and a senior lecturer in the Department of Psychiatry. His areas of research interest include alcohol-induced psychotic disorder, eating disorders, and psychopharmacology.


Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Services, Tygerberg Hospital

Hawkridge.jpgDr Susan Hawkridge
MBBCh, FFPsych 

Tel: 021 938 9174
Fax: 021 938 9738

​Dr Hawkridge is a registered child and adolescent psychiatrist and she is the head of child and adolescent psychiatry services at Tygerberg Hospital . She is also a senior lecturer in the Department of Psychiatry, Stellenbosch University and a visiting lecturer in the Departments of Psychology at Rhodes University. Her areas of interest include early onset psychotic disorders, paediatric psychopharmacology, paediatric neuropsychiatry, child and adolescent forensic psychiatry and community-based child psychotherapy. Her current service commitments include the integration of child and adolescent mental health care into primary health care services.



Rene Nassen ​

​Tel: 021 370 1316
Fax: 021 938 9738

Dr Nassen is a psychiatrist (Child & Adolescent Psychiatry) and lecturer at the Department of Psychiatry. She is particularly interested in the neuropsychiatric aspects of HIV.