​​​​​​​​Department of Psychiatry


Undergraduate Education


The Department of Psychiatry is extensively involved in the education of medical students at Stellenbosch University through both preclinical didactic teaching in year 3 and the core clinical rotations. Departmental faculty members also participate in other teaching activities such as case based learning and mentorship programmes. The Department also participates in the education of undergraduates in allied professions including occupational therapy, nursing, physiotherapy and dietetics


For more information on undergraduate training opportunities, please contact the following individuals:


Chairperson of Undergraduate training: Prof Dana Niehaus, djhn@sun.ac.za

MBCHB Late Rotation (MBChB V/VI): Prof Liezl Koen, liezlk@sun.ac.za

MBCHB Middle Rotation (MBChB IV/V): Dr Laila Asmallaila@sun.ac.za

MBCHB Early rotation (MBChB III): Dr Helena Lategan, bhl@sun.ac.za​

Occupational therapy and Physiotherapy, lebogang.phahladira@gmail.com