​​​Department of Psychiatry

Postgraduate Education

MMed (Psych) and FC (Psych) (SA) 


The Department offers specialist training in psychiatry leading to an M Med (Psychiatry) degree by course-work and dissertation as well as a Fellowship in Psychiatry of the College of Psychiatrists of South Africa. The 4-year training is provided via a broad didactic curriculum and supervised clinical experiences designed to build the skills and knowledge base the graduates need to remain current in the field long after graduation


The MMed is organised into Part I & II comprising basic science and psychiatry modules respectively. Within 18 months of commencing studies, candidates are required to pass the MMed Part I examination offered by the Department or the FC Psych Part I examination conducted by the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA). Passing this stage confers eligibility to write FCPsych Part II after completing additional requirements.


The emphasis of Part II 2 is on clinical psychiatry during which learning occurs mainly through the extensive clinical rotations. Candidates must complete the required course work, portfolio and research project before attempting the final Part II examinations which consist of the CMSA Part II examinations and the research assignment.


Module and credit values

  • Neuroanatomy 875 (30)
  • Neurophysiology 875 (30)
  • Special Psychology 875 (30)
  • Psychiatry 872 (270)
  • Assignment 815 (120)

Admission requirements

MB,ChB or equivalent recognized degree for at least three years prior to application

Registration with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) as medical practitioner



Programme coordinator: Prof Laila Asmal 
Tel: (021) 938 9623
​E-mail: laila@sun.ac.za​