SU International
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Africa Centre for Scholarship

​​​​​​About​​ us​

​​​Stellenbosch University consolidates its support for the development of scholarship on the continent through its Africa Centre for Scholarship (ACS).


The ACS has, since 2017, aimed to develop new and emerging scholars in Africa in order to contribute to the development of the continent and its people through connecting scholars globally and creating opportunities for research and Higher Education teaching and learning development.

The Centre provides high-quality, affordable, competency-based education to enable scholarship and career development across different disciplines and pre-doctoral, doctoral and post-doctoral phases. 

The Centre also houses the Stellenbosch University Unit for International Credentialing.​

​​​Flagship programmes

African Doctoral ​​Academy​

The African Doctoral Academy, now in its 12th year, provides training in research methodology as well as academic career development for pre-doctoral and doctoral candidates via its annual Summer and Winter Doctoral Schools, as well as short form Spring and Autumn Schools.

Joint Schools in Africa ​programme​

The Joint Schools in Africa programme comme​nced in 2018 and is directed primarily at post-doctoral and early career researchers. The Schools are presented jointly by staff members from Stellenbosch University and the hosting African partner institution. The focus is on capacitating participants in areas such as advanced research methods, doctoral supervision, teaching and learning methods, research leadership, ethics and digital technology. 


 Emerging Scholars Initiative

The Emerging Scholars Initiative was approved in December 2019 to be implemented in 12 institutions within nine countries in Africa (Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Uganda, Zambia) between 2020-2022 and will focus on scholarship development of early career staff and doctoral students at 12 African institutions. 

​Achievements and partnerships

  • ACS harnesses Stellenbosch University's more than 30 institutional and faculty  agreements, as well as its extensive thematic networks inlcuding in the fields of Water, Energy and Disaster Risk Reduction on the continent.
  • Over 5 500 students from 53 countries have participated in the African Doctoral Academy Doctoral Schools since 2009. The last four Doctoral Schools held since July 2020 have been online due to Covid-19.
  • Between 2016 and 2019, 550 delegates have participated in nine Joint Schools (doctoral and/or research) held at Ardhi University (Tanzania) (in partnership with PERI-PERI U), University of Lagos (Nigeria), Makerere University (Uganda), University of Malawi, Mekelle University (Ethiopia) (in partnership with KU Leuven, (Belgium)), University of Namibia, Strathmore University (Kenya) and University of Rwanda.
  • Since 2021, more than 150 delegates have participated in ESI Schools in Kenya at Strathmore University and in Nigeria at the University of Lagos.