SU International
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

The Emerging Scholars Initiative


The Emerging Scholars Initiative is a three-year multi-million Rand collaborative project within the Joint Schools Programme that comprises 12 Joint Schools at selected Stellenbosch University's (SU) partner universities (including 6 from the African Research Universities Alliance (ARUA)) in Africa. 

ESI was approved in December 2019 to be implemented within nine countries in Africa (2020-2022).

The project focuses on two streams (one for Doctoral students and the second for early career staff members, all identified as emerging scholars by their institutions) starting in 2020.

The project delivers courses related to research methodology, supervision, academic writing & publishing, and generic skills depending on the needs and priorities of individual institutions. The courses are co-designed by SU facilitators and facilitators from the partner/host institution. ​


Countries in Emerging Scholars Initiative:

  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Malawi
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Uganda
  • Zambia 


  • The programme moved online due to the Covid pandemic.
  • Since 2021, more than 150 delegates have participated in ESI Schools at Strathmore University, Kenya and University of Lagos, Nigeria which include participants from six other universities in Nigeria.​​