Clinical Pharmacology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Division of Clinical Pharmacology



Eric Decloedt  
Prof Eric H Decloedt
​Head of Division / Clinical Pharmacologist
021 938 9331​
​021 938 9860


Clinical Pharmacology Laboratory​

Ms Nkhahliseng Makashane
Assistant director
021 938 9333 / 6168 

Mrs Victoria Mathane - Van der Heever​

Medical Technologist
021 938 6168

Alma van der Merwe 

Mrs Alma van der Merwe
Medical Technologist / QC Manager
021 938 6168

Dr Mohammed Alghamdi
Clinical Pharmacology Registrar​
021 938 9335
021 938 ​9860

Dr Veshni Pillay-Fuentes Lorente

Clinical Pharmacologist
021 938 9340
021 938 9860


Dr Roland van Rensburg

Clinical Pharmacologist
021 938 9340
021 938 9860

Medicine Research Laboratories​

Zebrafish Research Unit

Carine Smith 

Prof Carine Smith
Professor​ / Head: Medicine Research Laboratories​
Research focus: Chronic inflammatory conditions; neuroscience
Specific expertise: Disease modelling in rodents and zebrafish

Prof Carine Smith has a background in Physiological Sciences and obtained her PhD (Physiological Sciences) from Stellenbosch University in 2004. She holds a NRF C2 rating and has published >70 peer-reviewed papers. She has delivered a number of keynote and plenary addresses at international conferences in the US and Europe. Her research niche is identification of therapeutic targets to treat maladaptation of regulatory systems (nervous, endocrine, inflammatory immune and gut microbiome), by disease modelling in rodent and zebrafish models. She currently serves as editorial member for Frontiers in Pharmacology and as section editor for Inflammopharmacology - both Q1 journals - and serve as specialist advisor to several significant role players in the preventative medicine pharmaceutical industry. She joined the division as founding director of the Zebrafish research unit and head of the Medicine Research Laboratories in 2021.

Research Analytical Pharmacology Laboratory

Dr Tracy Kellermann
Research focus: Pharmacokinetics, tuberculosis, toxicology
Specific expertise: Analytical pharmacology techniques

Dr Tracy Kellermann obtained a BSc (Hons) in Medical Biochemistry from Stellenbosch University, an MSc in Pharmacology from WITS and a PhD in Pharmacology from UCT.  She completed her MSc part-time while working for a biotechnology company involved in developing novel tuberculosis diagnostic tests.  She worked at the Division of Pharmacology at UCT as a Principal Scientist in the PK Unit before being appointed at Stellenbosch University from February 2019 as Senior Lecturer with overall responsibility for the Analytical Pharmacology Laboratories, and course convenor of the BSc Honours in Pharmacology.  Her research focus areas include toxicology and she is actively involved in various clinical trials involving PK studies within and outside of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Science at Stellenbosch University.​

Tissue Culture laboratory ​

Dr Mari van de Vyver
Senior Researcher
021 938 9257
Research focus: Regenerative medicine in diabetes
Specific expertise: Advanced tissue culture; stem cell research

Mari van de Vyver is a Senior Researcher in the Division of Clinical Pharmacology. She completed her PhD degree in Physiological Sciences in 2013 at Stellenbosch University. Thereafter she completed a 3-year postdoctoral research fellowship within the Department of Medicine and established a new research niche in 2016. She is an established researcher with expertise in physiology, endocrinology, stem cells and regenerative medicine. She has also served in numerous leadership positions which include being part of the Executive committee of the Society of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes in South Africa (SEMDSA) from 2016-2020. She is rated by the National Research Foundation as a Young researcher (Y-rating).  ​

Assoc Prof William Ferris
Associate Professor
021 938 9448
Research focus: Bone marrow adiposity
Specific expertise: Molecular biology

William Ferris is a cell biologist and biochemist in the Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Department of Medicine, Stellenbosch University. He graduated with a BSc (Hons) in biochemistry and chemistry from the University of East Anglia, UK in 1987 and then worked as a research Scientist in Haematology in the South African Institute for Medical Research, Johannesburg before completing his PhD in protein engineering at Southampton University, UK in 1992. He was subsequently a post-doctoral fellow studying liver fibrosis at Southampton General Hospital and then T-cell signalling at Stellenbosch University, after which he conducted diabetes research, looking at pancreatic islet regeneration at the SA Medical Research Council. In 2003 he moved back to Stellenbosch University and is currently an Associate Professor examining adipocytic differentiation of stem cells in both adipose tissue and bone. He was on the executive committee of the Society for endocrinology, metabolism and diabetes of South African (SEMDSA) for nine years, three as vice-president and is currently on the scientific board of the International Bone Marrow Adiposity Society. He is also a reviewer for 34 accredited international journals and two national journals.

Poison Information Centre

Carine Marks 

Mrs Carine Marks
Poison Information Director
021 938 9334
021 938 9860

Mr Gonwayne Voigt

Poison Information pharmacist
021 938 9611
021 938 9860​ ​

Mrs Shani Dames

021 938 9860


​ ​ 

Arina du Plessis 

Ms Arina du Plessis
Medical Technologist
021 938 9596
021 938 9860



Prof Johann van Zyl
Emeritus Professor
021 938 9612
021 938 9860

Administrative Staff 

Ms Lejandra Hanekom

 021 938 9045
021 938 9860

Mrs Mandy Harck

Postgraduate coordinator
021 938 9296
021 938 9860

Ms Puseletso Motsomane
Laboratory administrative officer
021 938 9344

Mr Gerald Fortuin
​021 938 9860