​Division of Surgery


Advancing optimal surgical care in South Africa and beyond.


To optimize surgical care by

  • Creating and sustaining a culture of transformative learning;
  • Contributing to the discovery, sharing and translation of knowledge that will promote health, surgical knowledge and skill
  • Benefiting the broader community by means of education, prevention and treatment 


The FMHS values are endorsed by the Division of Surgery:

  • excellence (to be outstanding at what we do, to be locally relevant and internationally competitive)
  • integrity (to be honest, open, ethical and professional)
  • commitment (to be dedicated to achieving our goals)
  • accountability (to accept responsibility for our decisions and actions)
  • inclusivity (to embrace and support diversity, to create an environment in which people feel valued, respected and supported)
  • innovation (to generate new ideas and strive to develop new products, processes and services that benefit society). 

Head: Prof Elmin Steyn  

MBChB (SU), MMed Surgery (GMU), FCSSA.Registered subspecialty: Trauma Surgery    

Tel: +27 21 938 9271
E-mail: esteyn@sun.ac.za​ 

Head, General Specialist Service: Dr JdeV Odendaal
MBChB(Cum Laude), Cert. Vasc, FCS (SA) MMed (chir)(Cum Laude)
Tel: +27 21 938 5794
Fax: +27 21 938 5799
E-mail: jvo@sun.ac.za

Administrative personnel

Secretary to prof E Steyn

Ms Mariska Brand
Tel: +27 21 938 9271
E-mail: mbran@sun.ac.za


Administrative Officer

Ms Raleah de Klerk  
Tel:  +27 21 938 9269
E-mail: raleah@sun.ac.za