​Division of Surgery




The MB, ChB programme of the University consists of theoretical modules (Organ/System-based) and clinical rotations (specialty-based).
The Division has input into numerous theoretical modules, most particularly the Digestive System, which is presented in the first semester of MB, ChB II.
Students in their 3rd to 6th year of MB, ChB training spend a total of 13 weeks rotating through the various clinical Units of this Division.



The Division offers surgical specialty training towards the degree MMed (Chir) of the University of Stellenbosch.   

Acceptance of postgraduate students for this degree is dependent on the applicant being appointed to a Registrar post at Tygerberg Hospital (21 posts), Paarl Hospital (1 post), Karl Bremer Hospital (1 post), or Worcester Hospital (1 post).   Click below for full details as to the guidelines regarding MMed (Chir) Training.

Contact Ms Raleah de Klerk for more details regarding the undergraduate programme for faculty and elective students.
Tel:  021 938 9269
E-mail: raleah@sun.ac.za

Contact Mrs Mariska Brand for more details regarding the postgraduate programme.
Tel: 021 938 9271
E-mail: mbran@sun.ac.za
The Division also accepts, under certain circumstances, supernumerary (non-salaried) postgraduate trainees.   This may be for the full 5 years of the MMed (Chir) curriculum (preference given to persons from countries in sub-saharan Africa), or for shorter periods of 1 to 6 months to study in a particular field of Surgery

For details contact the Head of Division, Prof Elmin Steyn  -  esteyn@sun.ac.za or the Tygerberg International Office, Ms Shanlynn Tim - stimm@sun.ac.za