​Division of Ophthalmology

Education - Specialist Training


Candidates wishing to enter the registrar training program at Tygerberg Academic Hospital and the University of Stellenbosch are encouraged to successfully complete a recognized post-graduate Diploma in Ophthalmology, the Part 1 examination of the College of Ophthalmologists of the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa and to gain general medical and surgical ophthalmology experience by working as a medical officer in ophthalmology before applying for a registrar position.

We currently have 10 registrar positions, 7 of which are fully funded by the Western Cape Provincial department of Health.

There are 4 full time consultants, 3 part time clinical consultants and several part-time consultant lecturers.  Each full-time consultant heads a firm comprising at least 1 senior and 1 junior registrar.

During their 4 years at Tygerberg registrars rotate six monthly through all of the specialist fields and work under close supervision and in close collaboration with a sub-specialist consultant.

  1. Orbit, Oculoplastic and Lacrimal Surgery, Oncology, Neuro-ophthalmology - Prof David  Meyer
  2. Medical and Surgical Retina, Uveitis - Dr Ari Ziskind (assisted by Dr Mark Johnston and Dr Japie Grovè) 
  3. Anterior segment, glaucoma and cornea - Dr Derrick Smit
  4. Paediatric ophthalmology and Strabismus - Dr Nicola Freeman

During all rotations registrars are exposed to the full range of ophthalmic practice, including Cataract & Refractive, Glaucoma and a great deal of Ocular Trauma. Specialist clinics are attended every week.