Welcome to Stellenbosch University

General Management

​​​​​​The functions of the University are guided by the Higher Education Act (Act 101 of 1997) and the Statute of Stellenbosch University (SU) (2019). The Statute defines the role of the University's office bearers, statutory bodies and institutional governance structures.

Office B​earers

The Chancellor is the ceremonial or titular head of the University. The Rector, the chief executive officer of the University, is also the Vice-Chancellor. The Deputy Vice-Chancellors and the Registrar are also office bearers of the University. The Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Vice-Chancellors may award degrees.

Management Structures

The Rectorate is responsible for the day-to-day operational management of the University. The Rectorate consists principally of the Rector and Deputy Vice-Chancellors responsible for the functions of the institution, as well as the Chief Operating Officer. The Deputy Vice-Chancellors are respectively responsible for Learning and Teaching; Research, Innovation and Postgraduate Studies; Social Impact, Transformation and Personnel; as well as Strategy, Global and Corporate Affairs​. The Registrar ensures that the academic administration of the University runs smoothly. The Rector may appoint senior staff to attend the meetings of the Rectorate and to support the operations of the Rectorate as required. The General Management Committee (GMC) consists of the members of the Rectorate, the deans of the University's 10 faculties, the Registrar as well as chief and senior directors of the various professional, administrative and support service divisions. Matters of academic and administrative interest are discussed by the GMC and the members play an advisory role to the Rectorate.​​​

The Executive (Rectorate)

Prof Wim de Villiers (Rector and Vice-Chancellor)
Prof Stan du Plessis (Chief Operating Officer) 
Prof Deresh Ramjugernath​ (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Learning and Teaching)
Prof Sibusiso Moyo (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research, Innovation and Postgraduate Studies)
Prof Nico Koopman (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Social Impact, Transformation & Personnel)
Prof Hester Klopper (Deputy Vice-Chancellor​: Strategy, Global and Corporate Affairs​)
Mr Mohamed Shaikh (Executive Manager: Rectorate)
Dr Ronel Retief (Registrar)


Prof Anthony Leysens (Arts and Social Sciences)
Prof Danie Brink (AgriSciences) 
Prof ​Ingrid Woolard​ (Economic and Management Sciences)
Prof Louise Warnich (Science)
Prof Elmi Muller​​ (Medicine and Health Sciences)
Prof Mbulungeni Madiba ​ (Education)
Prof Nicola Smit (Law) 
Prof Reggie Nel (Theology)
Prof Samuel Tshehla (Military Science)
Prof Wikus van Niekerk (Engineering)

Chief Directors​

Ms Anita Nel (Innovation and Business Development)​​
Ms Ilhaam Groenewald (Sports)
Mr Manie Lombard (Finance)
Ms Nicolette van den Eijkel (Facilities Management)
​Mr Victor Mothobi (Human Resources)
Dr Denisha Jairam-Owthar (Information Technology)

Senior Directors

Dr Antoinette van der Merwe (Learning and Teaching Enhancement)
Dr Barbara Pool (Strategic Initiatives)
Dr Choice Makhetha (Student Affairs)​
Ms Christelle Feyt (Corporate Communication and Marketing​)
Mr Eben Mouton (Business Management: FMHS)
Ms Ellen Tise (Library and Information Service)
Mr Gerhard Lipp (Legal Services)​
Adv Hein Swanepoel (SunCom (Commercial Services))​
Prof Ian Cloete (Information Governance (IG))
Ms Karen Bruns (Development and Alumni Relations) 
Dr Leslie Van Rooi (Social Impact and Transformation)
Dr Pierre Viviers (Campus Health)​
Mr Robert Kotzé (Stellenbosch University International)​
​Dr Therina Theron (Research and Innovation)​