Welcome to Stellenbosch University



Notice regarding the outcome of the elections

In terms of paragraph 6.1 of the Procedure, the Registrar's office​ notified the successful candidates that they had been appointed and thanked those candidates who made themselves available for this election but were unsuccessful.

We hereby announce the outcome of the election.

We had a total of 3943 votes cast – this is a 2.06% voter participation rate. ​​​

Click here to read the 
full notice​

The Convocation serves as a platform for SU alumni to express their opinions, share ideas and contribute to the direction and future of the institution. As defined in its institutional rules ​and the SU Statute, the Convocation’s mandate is to promote a mutually beneficial relationship between the University and Convocation members. By​ advising Council and Senate, the Convocation plays a vital role in the University’s welfare.

​ Who is the Convocation?

The Convocation includes all SU graduates, academic staff, and former full-time academic staff who reached retirement age. To ensure effective communication, it is essential to update your contact details with the Development and Alumni Relations Office. As a Convocation member, you will be able to vote on issues tabled, and you will receive important notices.​

The Convocation Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, which comprises five elected representatives, oversees the Convocation’s operations, serving as a link between the Convocation membership and the management of the University. These members hold office for three years and actively contribute to the Convocation’s activities. The new Executive Committee will be elected in 2024.

Roles in the Executive Committee

The president and vice-president convene annual and extraordinary Convocation meetings, while the secretary maintains records and communicates with Convocation members. They are supplemented by two additional members.

The Convocation’s impact

The Convocation serves as an advisory body to Council and the Institutional Forum. As a Convocation member, you can provide advice, nominate individuals for positions, and elect representatives to the University’s governing bodies. By participating in the Convocation, you have the opportunity to influence important decisions about policies, management selection, and the overall institutional culture.

Who are members of the Convocation?

All persons who have been awarded a qualification at a congregation (i.e. a graduation ceremony) of SU are members of the Convocation; so are the Rector, Vice-Rectors, Chief Operating Officer and all full-time academic staff. Full-time academic staff of SU also remain members of the SU Convocation after their retirement.

The Convocation is represented by  its Executive Committee of five members, as well as three representatives on the University Council, and one representative on the Institutional Forum.


Executive Committee​





Theo de Jager


Johan Acker Smit

Vice President 

Bernard Pieters


Isabelle de Taillefer

Additional Me​mber

Jan de Villiers​​

Additional Member


Click here for relevant documentation >>​​