Department of Surgical Sciences

Division of Paediatric Surgery

Paediatric Surgery is a clinical unit in Tygerberg hospital associated academically with Stellenbosch University. The unit is a tertiary level institution and is actively involved in surgical treatment of children in the greater Eastern Cape Town metro and surrounding area (approx. population of 2 million people). 
About 2000 procedure per year with increasing numbers recently. However, due to unforeseen events subsequent to COVID-19 pandemic, these figures have varied greatly during multiple stages of lockdown in the past 18 months.

The discipline consists of the following components and in no particular order:

1. Emergency trauma 
2. Surgical oncology
3. Hepatobiliary surgery
4. Neonatal surgery
5. Elective upper & lower GI surgery
6. Minimal Invasive Procedures 
7. Paediatric urology
8. Vascular access surgery

The unit consists of 3 full time consultants, 3 registrars and 1 rotating general surgery registrars as well as and one Intern assigned by the hospital services. We do have 3 self-funded post approved by HPCSA, which has variable occupancy depending on quality or number of applicants.

Contact information: 

Head: Prof B Banieghbal

Secretary:  Ms Shumaya Uithaler
Tel:  +27 21 938 9898
E-mail:  shumaya@sun.ac.za