​Division of Plastic Reconstructive Surgery


The Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery offers state of the art reconstructive and aesthetic plastic surgery. We are determined to provide superior patient care. Our clinical work, training and academic activities are driven by a dedication to excellent medical care.

Services provided

Services include a full range of plastic, reconstructive and aesthetic surgical techniques in all subspecialties, including:

  • Craniofacial surgery
  • Cleft lip and palate surgery
  • Breast reconstruction
  • Maxillofacial surgery
  • Microsurgery
  • Paediatric plastic surgery
  • Aesthetic surgery
  • General reconstructive plastic surgery
  • Hand surgery

Clinical team:

Prof Sammy Al-Benna

​Consultant / Senior specialist: 
Dr Alexander Zuhlke

​Part time specialists:
Prof Frank Graewe
Dr Andrew Bruce-Chwatt
Dr Liezl du Toit
Dr Gareth September
Dr Arnold Douglas

Dr Peter Asafo-Adjei
Dr Louise De Lange
Dr Siddarth Gautam
Dr Mosadi Mahoko

Supernumerary Registrar
Dr Amando Nkoane

Part time lecturers:

Dr Peet van Deventer

Elective students:
Elective students have the possibility to do a clinical rotation in our department.
Applicants can contact the International Office at email intertyg@sun.ac.za or tel (021) 938 9549.