Statistics and Actuarial Science
Welkom by Universiteit Stellenbosch

Nagraadse Beurse


Bursaries & scholarships

​​​​Faantjie en Lettie Pretorius Beurs - nou gesluit

This bursary is only for third-year BCom students in Mathematical Statistics or Statistics or BDatSci in focal Statistical Learning.

Prof Faantjie Pretorius was the first Professor in Statistics and founder of the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science at  Stellenbosch University. His heirs are sponsoring a bursary to a third-year student in Statistics or Mathematical Statistics. Merit and the financial situation/need of an applicant are considered in allocating the bursary. Financial need should be demonstrated and if need be, include parental, guardian or family income/payslips. It will be treated with the utmost confidentiality, by sending your application before due date to Ms Heleen Randall at een PDF dokument van al die dokumente wat jy wil indien.

Application form in MSWord

Application form in PDF​​​

​​Closing date 15 March 2024. If you do not hear from the Department by 16 April, it is as a result of your application being unsucessful.

Postgraduate Scholarships 2024 - now closed
​​Sponsored by Industry - Second call

The closing date for these bursaries as second call is 5 February 2024 (close of business 17:00). Only students who applied for Masters or Honours programmes in the Department may submit an application. The bursary is only awarded to successful applicants for the Postgraduate programmes of the Department. The amount and number of bursaries to be awarded are limited due to the expected number of applications in the second round. Academic merit and financial need will play significant roles in awarding the bursaries - we recommend that you include statement/payslip etc. of family income to demonstrate financial need.

Flyer of Scholarships

Application form in​ MSWord

Application form in PDF

If you do not hear from the Department by 12 February 2024, it is as a result of your application being unsuccessful. No late applications after 5 February 2024 will be considered.


National Research Foundation (NRF) Postgraduate Scholarship 2024 - NOW CLOSED

​Calls are open for funding towards postgraduate studies in 2024. The first document give important due dates as well as where information can be obtained and where to apply electronically on the NRF portal. Please refer to the Application and Funding Guide and Framework documents when completing the online application form at every step of the process. Visit for more information on scholarships. All postgraduate students will be expected to apply on the NRF Connect system by accessing the link:

DSI-NRF Postgraduate Scholarship Framework for 2024 - FINAL.pdf

DSI-NRF Honours Application and Funding Guide for 2024.pdf

DSI-NRF Extension Support for Master's and Doctoral Application and Funding Guide for 2024.pdf

Honours financial means test: 15 August 2023

Honours General Scholarships: 24 November 2023

Honours SARAO scholarships: 31 July 2023

First-time Master's scholarships: 30 June 2023

First-time Doctoral scholarships: 30 June 2023

SU Postgraduate Scholarship Programme 2024 - NOW CLOSED

The Stellenbosch University Postgraduate Scholarship Programme (PSP) is one of the University's flagship scholarship programmes. It aims to support its vision of becoming a leading research-intensive institution by supporting a pool of emerging research talent amongst our postgraduate students. All scholarship awards will be made on the condition that the applicant meets all the requirements of the scholarship as well as the admission requirements of the relevant degree programme. 

Please note that there are two separate application processes: the application for postgraduate study (degree programme) AND the application for this scholarship programme.

The application documents can be accessed here.

Closing date: 31 OCTOBER 2023

Students pursuing postgraduate studies in Honours, Master's or Doctoral degrees in 2024 may apply in accordance with the faculty criteria provided in the call document.

For futher information, please contact:

Mrs Tammy Abrahams: (Coordinator: Institutional Scholarships)

Mr Jongisizwe Ndlebe: (Administrator: Postgraduate Funding)​