​​​​​​​​​​​​​Staff and Students in the Department of Earth Sciences:


Academic Staff

Professor John Clemens (Emeritus), Igneous Petrogenesis, Crustal Melting, Experimental Petrology

Dr Susanne Fietz, Biogeochemistry, Paleo-climate and environment

Dr René Heyn, Geochronology (U-Pb, Pb-Pb), Economic geology           

Professor Alex Kisters, Structural Geology and Tectonics, Economic Geology, Field Geology (HOD)

Dr Martin Klause​n, Igneous Petrology

Dr Matthew Mayne,​ Metamorphic Petrology

Professor Jodie Miller, Isotope Geochemistry, Metamorphic and Igneous Petrology, Large Igneous Provinces, Bushveld Geology, Isotope Hydrology, Water Resources

Professor Alakendra Roychoudhury, Biogeochemistry, Geomicrobiology, Environmental Geochemistry​

Professor Gary Stevens, SARChI Professor, Director Central Analytical Facility, Granite Petrogenesis, Experimental Petrology, Metamorphic Petrology

Dr Ryan Tucker, Sedimentology, Palaeontology

Dr Bjorn van der Heyden, Economic Geology                          

Admin & Technical Staff:

​​Click here​

Research associates and postdoctoral researchers:

Click here


PhD candidates​

Click here


MSc candidates

Click here 


BSc Honours students

 Click here

(last edited 6/2016)