Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Nominations for the Office of Chancellor


The term of office of the Chancellor of Stellenbosch University, Dr JP (Johann) Rupert, expires towards the end of 2019.  Dr Rupert is not eligible for re-election.

In accordance with paragraph 3 of the University's Statute, members of the Convocation are hereby invited to submit written nominations of suitable candidates for the office of Chancellor for the term 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2024.

Each nomination has to be signed by at least 20 (twenty) members of the Convocation, and has to be accompanied by a statement certifying that the nominee accepts the nomination.  The completed nomination form can be sent by email to the Registrar at

All SU graduates, all permanent academic staff members, as well as people who received a diploma after 2010 at Stellenbosch University, are members of the Convocation.

According to paragraph 3(1) of the Statute, the Chancellor shall be elected from the nominees by an electoral college consisting of the members of Council, the members of the Executive Committee of Senate and the President and the Vice-President of the Convocation.

​Click Here to download the nomination fo​rm.   The closing date for nominations is Wednesday, 4 September 2019 at 12:00.​