​​​​​​​​​​Division of Medical Microbiology

​​

Head of Division
​​
​​​ 

Prof A C Whitelaw

​Associate Professor, Principal Specialist

Qualifications: MBBCh (Wits), MSc (Medical Microbiology) (UCT), FC Path(SA) Micro

Tel: +27 21 938 4032 / 938 4066

Fax: +27 21 938 4005
E-mail: medmicro@sun.ac.za


 

 

Consultants


Prof Monika M Esser

Professor, Principal Specialist - Immunology

Tel: 021 938 5228

E-mail: monika@sun.ac.za

 

Prof Patric JD Bouic

Professor (on session basis) - Immunology

Tel: 021 938 9580 (Synexa)

E-mail: pjdb@sun.ac.za / pbouic@synexagroup.com

Dr Colette Pienaar
Senior Specialist - Medical Microbiology
Tel: 021 938 4035
E-mail: colette.pienaar@nhls.ac.za

Dr Rena Hoffman
Senior Specialist - Medical Microbiology
Tel: 021 938 4008
E-mail: renah@sun.ac.za
 
Dr Kessendri Reddy
Specialist - Medical Microbiology
Tel: 021 938 4021
E-mail: Kessendri.Reddy@nhls.ac.za
 
Dr Pieter Nel
Specialist - Medical Microbiology
Tel: 021 938 4017
E-mail: Pieter.Nel@nhls.ac.za​

 
Medical Scientists
 
Dr Mae Newton-Foot
Scientist - Medical Microbiology
Tel: 021 938 4009
E-mail: maen@sun.ac.za
 
​Dr Richard Glashoff
Scientist - Immunology​
Tel: 021 938 4009
E-mail: rglas@sun.ac.za


Laboratory Managers

Ms Wilma J Basson
Microbiology Laboratory Manager
Tel: 021 938 4003
E-mail: wilma.basson@nhls.ac.za
Mr Noel Nel
Immunology Laboratory Manager
Tel: 021 938 5564
E-mail: Noel.Nel@nhls.ac.za