Family Medicine & Primary Care
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care

​​​​​​​​Staff

​University Personnel 

Prof Bob Mash
Head of Division
Applied Research Module Lead

Tel: 021-938 9170
E-mail: rm@sun.ac.za
 


Dr Zelra Malan
Postgraduate Programme Co-ordinator (Acting)
EuropeAid- and THET projects coordinator​ 

Tel:  021 938 9925
E-mail: zmalan@sun.ac.za  



Dr Michael Pather
Undergraduate Programme Co-ordinator
​Evidence-based Medicine Module Lead

Tel: 021 938 9171
E-mail: mpather@sun.ac.za
 

 



Sr Hilary Rhode
Teaching and Learning Module Lead

Tel: 021 938 9169
E-mail: hrhode@sun.ac.za





Dr Francois Coetzee
Family-oriented Primary Care Module Lead
Rural Health Module Lead

Tel: 023 346 7820
Email: franna@sun.ac.za​ 



​Joint Staff / District Hospital Personnel


Dr Muideen Bello
Elsies River CHC Co-ordinator

Tel: 021 931 0511
Email: muideen.bello@westerncape.gov.za 

 

 


Dr Strini Govender
Khayelitsha Site B Co-ordinator

Tel: 021 938 9661
Email: govender@sun.ac.za

 

 



Prof Louis Jenkins
Training Complex Co-ordinator - George
Consultation Module Lead

Tel: 044-802 4528/9
​E-mail: Louis.Jenkins@westerncape.gov.za
Curriculum Vitae


 


Dr Werner Viljoen

Training Co-ordinator - East Metro
Forensic Medicine Module Lead

Tel: 021 850 4700
Email: wernerviljoen@telkomsa.net



Dr Gavin Hendricks 
Training Co-ordinator - ​West Coast training complex​
(Swartland district hospital, Malmesbury)

Tel: 022 482 1161
Email: Gavin.Hendricks@westerncape.gov.za




Dr Colette Gunst
District Family Physician Comprehensive​ Health - Cape Winelands
Tel: 023 348 8106 / 8100
Areas of special interest: HIV, TB, Clinical Governance


​​Administration



Ms Retha van der Westhuizen
Administrative Officer
Tel: 021 938 9620
Email: rvdwe@sun.ac.za

 


 


Ms Frieda Valentine
Administrative Officer : UNDERGRADUATE
Tel: 021 938 9449
Email: fjv@sun.ac.za 

 

 


Mrs Nicole Cordon-Thomas

Administrative Officer : POSTGRADUATE 
Tel: 021 938 9168
Email: nicolec@sun.ac.za.
 

 


Mrs Cindy Harley
Administrative Officer : SUNLEARN
Tel: 021 938 9927
E-mail: cindyp@sun.ac.za




FB_IMG_1486221382592.jpg

Mrs Marianna James
Administrative Officer : Research and SHORT COURSES 
Tel: 021 938 9395
Email: mariannaj@sun.ac.za​




​​Project Personnel

Marietjie de Villiers (mrdv@sun.ac.za)


​​District Hospital Personnel

Staff:                                                                                      Contact details:

Klaus von Pressentin :                                                         kvonpres@pgwc..gov.za / klausvonp@gmail.com

Arina Schlemmer :                                                                arinasch@sun.ac.za

Annie Botes (Lombard) :                                                     annie1lombard@gmail.com

Sheron Forgus :                                                                   Sheron.Forgus@westerncape.gov.za / sforgus@gmail.com

Vanessa Lomas :                                                                   lomasvanessa@gmail.com

Steve Swartz :                                                                       Steve.Swartz@westerncape.gov.za / sgswartz@yahoo.com

Rachael Schaefer :                                                                Rachael.Schaefer@westerncape.gov.za

Laurel Giddy :                                                                       Laurel.Giddy@westerncape.gov.za / lgiddy@mweb.co.za

Zandy Rosochaki :                                                                zandyroso@gmail.com

Meyer Swanepoel :                                                              meyer.swanepoel@westerncape.gov.za / meyer.esme@gmail.com

Paul Kapp :                                                                           paulkapp777@gmail.com

Herman Kruger :                                                                 herman.kruger24@gmail.com

Germarie Ferreira :                                                             germarieferreira@gmail.com

Liezel Rossouw :                                                                  jacobs.liezel@gmail.com

Dusica Stapar :                                                                    Dusica.Stapar@westerncape.gov.za

Mellisa Presence-Vollenhoven :                                        mellisasmail@gmail.com​

Beverley Williams :                                                              Beverley.r.williams@gmail.com

Wiaan Bedeker :                                                                  Wiaan.Bedeker@westerncape.gov.za

Obby Risiva

Stefanie Perold :                                                                 stefanie.perold@gmail.com

Daniela Marinescu :                                                           daniela.marinescu@ymail.com

Elmarie de Klerk :                                                               edklerk@hotmail.com

Fanie Serfontein :                                                               fanieserfontein@gmail.com

Helene Lubbe :                                                                   dutoitbrdy@telkomsa.net

Roland Kroukamp :                                                            kroukamproland4@gmail.com

Hennie Steyn

Kobus Viljoen :                                                                    kgviljoen@hotmail.com


​​​Private Practitioners

Surona Visagie (surona@telkomsa.net)

Marie de Villiers

Julie Dieterich (jdieter@mweb.co.za)

Dawie du Plessis (dawiedp@gmail.com)