Emergency Medicine
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Division of Emergency Medicine

Clinical Services & Social Impact​


Khayelitsha Hospit​al


Khayelitsha Hospital is a district-level hospital centred in the heart of Khayelitsha. The emergency centre sees roughly 3500 patients a month, most of a high acuity. The facility also offers a CT-scanner, maternity, and paediatric services, with referral routes to Tygerberg Hospital for ICU and higher care services.

Emergency Physicians: Dr C Kibamba, Dr L Bush, Dr M Mayet

Karl Bremer.jpg

Karl Bremer Hospital​

Karl Bremer Hospital is a district-level hospital situated in Bellville. The hospital provides an acute-care service to patients in the Northern/Tygerberg Substructure. Karl Bremer Hospital also provides undergraduate and limited postgraduate training for medical students and registrars​.

Emergency Physicians: Dr Sue le Roux (head), Dr M Abrams


Paarl Hospital​

Paarl Hospital is a regional-level hospital situated in the town of Paarl. It is unique for its location and drainage of both rural and urban patients.

Emergency physicians: Dr A Parker (head), Dr P Louw, Dr J Rajbaran


Tygerbe​rg Hospital​

Tygerberg hospital is the tertiary facility for Stellenbosch University and the main training site for undergraduate and postgraduate students.

Emergency physicians: Dr S Lahri (medical emergency centre), Dr H Lategan, Dr E Erasmus (trauma unit)


Worcester Hospital​

Worcester Hospital is a regional-level hospital situated in Worcester. It is one of our rural emergency centres and treats approximately 2900 patients a month, of which 5% require critical care.

Emergency physicians: Dr L Hodsdon, Dr A Midgley​