SU International
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Fees: Partner institutions

​​​​Fees: Partner institutions

Exchange students receive a tuition waiver based on the exchange agreement between Stellenbosch University and their home institution. This will differ on the level and type of agreement that your home institution has with Stellenbosch University. If your institution has a faculty/departmental level agreement you have to take at least two-thirds of your coursework in this faculty/department to qualify for a tuition waiver for all courses.

Exchange students are expected to pay a non-refundable Exchange Administrative Fee (EAF) of ZAR 9,285 prior to registration at Stellenbosch University.

The EAF comprises of the International Registration Fee (IRF) and a Service Fee.

Service fees may be utilised for services such as photocopying, printing, washing quota, gym membership, IT services, society memberships, etc. Only two services are compulsory to be deducted from the student's service fee, which is the student card (± R 80), and the Network Availability Fee (± ZAR 600). If you spend more than the service fee allocated amount, you need to pay the outstanding amount prior to your departure. Failure to settle the outstanding amount will result in your transcript being withheld.

Please contact for all financial enquiries.​

You will receive an invoice together with your letter of admission indicating the amount payable, what the amount may be utilized for and the banking details of Stellenbosch University. You will not be able to register unless you have paid your fees.


Tuition and related fees for non-degree semester mobility for 2024 ​ ​ ​ ​

Student CategoryService FeeIRFTuition FeeTotal

Exchange student per semester


(Non-refundable) (USB: R11,475)



R9,285 (Non-refundable)

(USB: R16,510)

IRF: International Registration Fee

EAF: Exchange Administration Fee​

Terms of Payment

  • All the above-mentioned fees are non-refundable
  • SA students who register as an Exchange student do pay IRF
  • SA students who register as Study Abroad students (Freemovers) do not pay IRF
  • Affiliated students pay IRF per academic year registration (Jan 2024-March 2025)