Human Resources
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Institutional Committee for Staff Health and Wellbeing is mand​​​ated by the Rectorate and reports to it at least twice a year on all wellbeing matters. One of the functions of the committee is to advocate for and advance​ the health and wellbeing mandate of the university and the implementation thereof, as supported by Vision 2040 and the Strategic Framework 2019-2024. 

Read more on the terms of reference her​e​.

Committee Members​

Person  Designation/Department Email Address


Prof Nico Koopman


Chair & Deputy Vice Chancellor: Social Impact, Transformation and Personnel (ex officio) as chairperson
Dr Pierre Viviers Vice-Chair & Senior Director: Staff Health & Wellbeing
Ms Valdene SouthonCommittee Coordinator / Secretariat
Mr Ebrahiem Abrahams Acting Chief Director: Human Resources
Ms Shibu MamaboloHead: Wellbeing Office
Ms Nicolette van den EijkelChief Director: Facilities Management
Ms Ilhaam GroenewaldChief Director: Sport
Mr Jerry LakaDirector: Support Services (Maties Sport)
Ms Joanne WilliamsProject Coordinator: RC: Social Impact, Transformation & Personnel
Ms Anne Havemann-Serfontein
RC: Registrar's Division
Project Manager ISFAP
Ms Maryke Hunter-Husselman RC: Research & Innovation
Director: Research Information and strategy
Mr Charl Davids RC: Learning & Teaching
Director: Centre for student counseling and deveopment
Dr Alten du Plessis

RC: Strategy & Internationalisation
Deputy Director: tracking and development
Prof Catherine du ToitFaculty of Arts & Social
Dr JA FeldmanFaculty of
Marna LourensFaculty of
Marieke BrandFaculty of
Mr M TshokotshaFaculty of Military
Dr F CleophasFaculty of Medicine & Health
MJ FreeboroughFaculty of
Prof T HaasFaculty of
Prof L WarnichFaculty of
Prof G GorgensFaculty of Economic & Management
Dr Zetu Mkhize
Director Transformation Office

HWB Member PAs 

Michelle Jooste​​
(Prof Koopman)
Suzette Els Warnich)
Dale Savel Groenewald)
Venessa Williams Abrahams)
Hanlie Swart van den Eijkel)