School of Accountancy
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

School of Accountancy


The School of Accountancy is involved in the education of professional accountants for the following bodies:

•             South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA)

•             Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)

•             Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)

•             Other related areas


The School of Accountancy is divided into different divisions responsible for the training of the different accountancy professions:

•             Accountancy (BAcc and BCom)

•             Management Accounting

•             Taxation

•             Auditing (including Information Systems

The School of Accountancy consists of a group of dedicated staff all appropriately qualified for lecturing in their specialised fields.

Organisational structure  

The School of Accountancy is divided into four divisions, each reporting to the Director of the School.  The responsibilities are currently as follows:

Director of the School of Accountancy: Prof. SPJ von Wielligh​

Deputy Director: Learning and Teaching: Prof. C Lamprecht  ​

Deputy Director: Research: Dr. GF Nel​​

Deputy Director: Social Impact and Transformation: Prof. G Steenkamp

Divisional heads

  • Management Accounting:  Prof. WS (Soon) Nel
  • Financial Accounting:  Prof. C Lamprecht
  • Auditing:  Prof. RJ Rudman
  • Taxation:  Dr. R Nel
  • Digital- and Leadership Acumen: Ms. A van Zyl

Program coordinators

  • BAcc:  Prof. SPJ von Wielligh​ and ​Prof. C Lamprecht ​​
  • BComm (Financial Accounting):  Dr. GF Nel
  • BComm (Management Accounting): Mr. R Baard
  • BComHons (Management Accounting):  Mr. R Baard
  • BAccHons/PGDA:  Prof. WS (Soon) Nel and Ms. A Eloff
  • MCom (Taxation): Ms. C Thiart
  • MCom (Management Accounting):   Prof. WS (Soon) Nel
  • MCom (Financial Accounting): Dr. GF Nel
  • MAcc (Taxation):  Ms​. C Thiart
  • MAcc (Management Accounting):  Prof. WS (Soon) Nel
  • MAcc (Financial Accounting):  Prof. C Lamprecht ​​
  • MAcc (Auditing):  Prof. RJ Rudman
  • MCom (Computer Auditing):  Prof. RJ Rudman​
  • PhD (Accounting):  Dr. GF Nel