Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
SU finalists competing for science and technology awards
Author: Corporate Communication & Marketing / Korporatiewe Kommunikasie & Bemarking [Alec Basson]
Published: 16/09/2021

​As has been the case in previous years, Stellenbosch University (SU) will once again be well represented at the annual National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF)/ South32Awards. Six finalists from SU will be competing for the 2020/2021 NSTF/South32 Awards at South Africa's “Science Oscars" on Thursday 30 September 2021.

This year, the NSTF Awards Gala Event will take place as a hybrid event to be broadcast from two cities – Johannesburg and Cape Town. This means the usual Gala Dinner will be reintroduced with the addition of a celebration in Cape Town and broadcasting from both cities to an online audience via the NSTF YouTube channel. The patron of the Awards, the Minister of Higher Education, Science and Innovation, Dr Blade Nzimande has been invited to preside over the presentation of awards.

Regarded as the most sought-after national accolades of their kind in the country, the NSTF/South32 Awards recognise, celebrate and reward the outstanding contributions of individuals, teams and organisations to science, engineering and technology (SET) in the country. Among the competitors are experienced scientists, engineers, innovators, science communicators, engineering capacity builders, organisational managers and leaders, as well as data and research managers.

According to the organisers, it is an extraordinary honour to be a finalist given the quality of the nominations received every year, the fierce competition that nominees face and growing interest from the SET community over the years.

The SU finalists (with department or environment) and the categories in which they will compete are as follows:

Lifetime Award

  • Profs Soraya Bardien & Eileen Hoal (Division of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics)

TW Kambule-NSTF Awards: Researchers

  • Prof Anton du Plessis (Department of Physics and Manager: X-ray Computed Tomography Scanner Facility)

TW Kambule-NSTF Awards: Emerging Researchers

  • Dr Wynand Goosen (Centre of Excellence for Biomedical TB Research, Division of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics, Department of Biomedical Sciences)
  • Dr Caitlin Uren (Division of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics). She is also a finalist in the Data for Research category.

Innovation Award: Corporate Organisation

  • Innovus Technology Transfer Office Team with Leader and Head Dr Madelein Kleyn