Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Dr Margaret Blackie - SU Teaching Fellow 2020
Author: CTL/SOL
Published: 10/02/2020

Dr Margaret Blackie, Department of Chemistry and Polymer Science, has been appointed as SU Teaching Fellow from 2020​.

Dr Blackie is a senior lecturer in the Department of Chemistry and Polymer Science. She has been at SU since January 2010. She holds a PhD in synthetic chemistry from the University of Cape Town.

Dr Blackie's research interests include medicinal chemistry, higher education and Ignatian spirituality. She has published academic papers in all three disciplines. She teaches courses and has supervised postgraduate students in both chemistry and theology.

Her interest in education stems from doing a postdoctoral fellowship under Prof Jenni Case at the Centre for Research in Engineering Education at the University of Cape Town in 2009. She is currently working on a major international collaboration following chemistry and chemical engineering students through their degrees in South Africa, the UK and the USA.

Dr Blackie will hold a teaching fellowship from 2020 to 2022. The primary aim of her research project is to give academic staff in STEM disciplines access to the analytical resources available in the suite of tools that comprises Legitimation Code Theory (LCT).

The SU teaching fellowships provide excellent teachers and scholars of teaching and learning with the opportunity to spend more consistent periods of time, with various forms of support, to focus on aspects of curriculum renewal, the exploration of teaching and learning, and the dissemination of good teaching and learning practice in departments and faculties.

Academics who have completed teaching fellowships at SU are:

  • Dr Elize Archer (Centre for Health Professions Education, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)
  • Prof. Elmarie Costandius (Department of Visual Arts, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences)
  • Dr Berna Gerber (Department of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)
  • Prof. Ian Nell (Department of Practical Theology and Missiology, Faculty of Theology)
  • Prof. Dana Niehaus (Department of Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)
  • Prof. Nicola Plastow (Department of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)
  • Prof. Geo Quinot (Department of Public Law, Faculty of Law)
  • Dr Helena Wessels, deceased.

The following academics currently hold a teaching fellowship:

  • Dr Marianne McKay (Department of Viticulture & Oenology, Faculty of AgriSciences)
  • Prof. Ingrid Rewitzky (Vice-Dean: Teaching and Learning, Faculty of Science)
  • Dr Michael Schmeisser (Department of Horticultural Sciences, Faculty of AgriSciences)
  • Dr Marianne Unger (Department of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)

More information about the Teaching Fellowships is available from Dr Karin Cattell-Holden, or X 3074.