Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Back-to-back Varsity Cup titles for Maties Rugby
Author: Maties Sport Media
Published: 17/04/2019

Maties Rugby won the coveted Varsity Cup double for a second consecutive year.

Just like in 2018, both the Maties Varsity Cup and Maties Young Guns won their respective finals in the Varsity Cup competition.

Maties beat Tuks 34-12 for their second title in two years and fifth Varsity Cup title overall in front of a jammed packed Danie Craven stadium on Monday night.

Earlier in the day, the Maties Young Guns beat Pukke 32-22 for their second title after winning the trophy for the first time last year.

“To repeat our double victory during the 2019 season is awesome," said Ilhaam Groenewald, Chief Director: Maties Sport.

“Credit has to go to our Maties Sport High Performance Unit, Maties Rugby Club Office, Executive Committee, coaches, support staff, and most importantly our players who represented us in both the Young Guns and Varsity Cup competitions. Winning the titles at home makes it even more special, because we are sharing this with our university colleagues and students, family, friends, sponsors, donors, alumni and the greater Stellenbosch community. We are all proudly Maties!"

According to Maties coach, Hawies Fourie, the players saw the 2019 season as a chance to win the title again, not to defend it.

Chris Massyn was named Player of the Final. Chris Smit was rewarded for his amazing performances throughout the tournament by being named 2019 Varsity Cup Player that Rocks. Edwill van der Merwe – who is the leading try-scorer in Varsity Cup history after scoring his 23rd try recently – was named Back that Rocks.

These three players along with other Maties legends such as Johan Momsen, Stephan Streicher and Brendon Nell played for Maties for the last time.

Monday night's game was Maties' 20th undefeated Varsity Cup match since the 2017 final.

The Young Guns were also undefeated in 2019. Captain Marcel Theunissen was named Player of the Final. He was also part of the winning team in 2018.

Photo credit: Varsity Cup