Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
SU Convocation elects 4 new Council members
Author: Korporatiewe Kommunikasie / Corporate Communications
Published: 04/05/2018

The Convocation of Stellenbosch University (SU) has elected four new members to serve on the Stellenbosch University Council: Mr Charl Cillié, Adv Jean Meiring and Mr Johan Theron for the term 2 April 2018 to 1 April 2022, and Prof Joan Hambidge for the term 2 April 2018 to 1 April 2020. 

Members of the Convocation were invited to nominate candidates to fill the four vacancies on Council. As more than three candidates were nominated for the four-year term, and more than one candidate, for the two-year term, two election processes ran simultaneously for the two respective terms.  Voting closed at 12:00 on 30 April 2018. The validity of all ballots was verified.

Mr Cillié is the managing director at Infinity Web Solutions; adv Meiring is an advocate at the Johannesburg Bar (Johannesburg Society of Advocates); Mr Theron is a commercial litigant at Werksmans Attorneys and Prof Hambidge  is a professor of Afrikaans & Creative Writing at the University of Cape Town (UCT).

Both Prof Hambidge and Mr Theron have served on the SU Council before.

Stellenbosch University is currently revising its Statute, which among others, determines the composition of its statutory bodies. Stakeholders and members of the public who would like to give input on the draft Statute can proceed to the following link: Comments can be sent to The closing date for contributions is 28 May 2018.