Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
SU Theologian winner of Andrew Murray-Desmond Tutu prize
Author: Helette van der Westhuizen
Published: 10/04/2018

The Andrew Murray Prize Fund has announced the winners of this year's prizes for Christian and theological books.

The Andrew Murray-Desmond Tutu Prize for Christian and Scientific Theological Publications was awarded to Prof Louis Jonker of the Faculty of Theology at Stellenbosch University (SU) for his book, Defining All-Israel in Chronicles, published by the German publishing house Mohr Siebeck. The reviewers describe the publication as "a work of excellent academic research of the highest quality".

In this book, Jonker develops a new interpretation model for interpreting the book of Chronicles. Chronicles represents a re-interpretation of older history traditions of Ancient Israel (contained in the books Samuel and Kings). The re-interpretation takes place in a changed socio-historical context, namely during the last years of the Persian Empire. Jonker's book indicates that the identity negotiation in this period takes place both in continuity with the traditions of the past, but also takes the courage to think and to believe in new ways in new historical conditions. The book furthermore indicates how the identity negotiation process played out on at least four levels, namely in the wider emipre, in interaction with the surrounding provinces, in the discourse between the tribal areas of Judah and Benjamin, and in the conflict groups in the Jerusalem temple cult.

The prize, which will be awarded on 25 May 2018, consists of a cash prize and a commendation.

The other prize winners are:

The Andrew Murray Prize for a General Christian Publication: André Pretorius for his book, Geloof alleen, published by Naledi;

The Desmond Tutu-Gerrit Brand Prize for a debut work in an official language of South Africa: Pierre du Plessis for his book, Jesus ruik na mirre en stof published by Lux Verbi.

Two special awards are also made: the Andrew Murray-FAK award for Christian Music to Pieter H. van der Westhuizen, and a special Andrew Murray award to Timo Crouse.