SPL (School of Public Leadership)
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​​​Academic Staff

Director: School of Public​ Leadership

Prof Zw​elinzima Ndevu

+27 21 918 2150

Area of Specialisation

​People Management​​
Public Administration
Local Government​

Head of ​Doctorate Programme Doctorate in Public & Development Management

Prof Pregala Pillay

+27 21 808 3602

Area of Specialisation


Professor: Environmental Management

Prof Martin De Wit

+27 21 808 4273

Area of Specialisation

Environmental and Ecological Economics
Environmental Governance

Professor: Public Policy & Monitoring and Evaluation​

Prof Babette Rabie

+27 21 918 4186

Area of Specialisation

Public Policy
Public Sector Evaluation

Untitled design.png

​Professor: Development Studies

Prof​ Firoz Khan

+27 21 808 3037

Area of Specialisation

Development Studies
Heterodox Economics
​Institutional Theory

Professor & Academic Head: PGD Public Finance​ Management

Prof Tania Ajam

+27 21 918 4124​​

Area of Specialisation

Public Financial Management
Public Finance
Public Economics
Public Policy
Digital Transformation
ICT Governance
Intergovernmental Fiscal Relations

Lecturer &​ Academic Head: Social Impact

Mr Johnny Douglas

+27 21 918 4408​​

Area of Specialisation

Project Management
Shared Services in Local Government
Local Governance
Community Services
Environmental Health/Municipal Health
Environmental Management, Building Control
Public Management
Disaster Management
Public Participation and Integrated Community Development
Ethics in the Public Sector

Brown and Light Brown, Circle Framed Instagram Profile Picture.jpg 
Senior Lecturer: Environmental Management​

Dr Samantha Williams


+27 21 808 2195

Area of Specialisation​

Environmental Management
Sustainable Governance of Natural Resource Systems

Lecturer: Diploma in Sustainable Development

Dr Ruenda Loots​

+27 21 881 3952​​​

Area of Specialisation

Sustainable development
Sustainable Design Technologies

Lecturer: Diploma in Sustainable Development

Mr Shaun Dunn​​

+27 21 881 3952​​​

Area of Specialisation

Education for Sustainable Development
Indigenous Knowledge Systems & Traditional Knowledge​

Lecturer and Programme Head: Advanced Diploma in Accountability

Ms Deyana Isaacs​​

+27 21 918 4131​​​

Area of Specialisation

​Project Management
Women in Management
People Management
Leadership Development
Governance and Accountability in the Public Sector

​Lecturer: People Management

Ms Ashlene van der Berg-Ross​​​

+27 21 808 2316​​​​

Area of Specialisation

​People Management
Public Administration​

​Lecturer and Programme Head: Diploma in Public Accountability​

Mr Werner Burger

+27 21 918 4383​​​​

Area of Specialisation

Public Policy Implementation
Public Sector Risk Management​

​Lecturer: Public and Development Management

Ms Melissa Botha

+27 21 808 2148

Area of Specialisation

Women in Management
People Management
Public Participation
Ethics, Anti-corruption

​​Lecturer: Public and Development Management

Ms Kerotse Marilyn Kekana​

+27 21 808 2195

Area of Specialisation​

Poverty Alleviation

Public Management and Policy


​Sustainability Reporting, Monitoring and Evaluation