Tygerberg 2020 Registration

There are two different options available for you to officially register as a student of Stellenbosch University in January 2020. The one is self-registration (e-registration), and the other one is by using the registration process in GERGA on Tygerberg campus for students in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. The GERGA registration that takes place during the welcoming programme, follows a fixed schedule. If you have done the National Senior Certificate or the IEB-certificate, you will be able to register yourself. Candidates from other school systems cannot self-register.

It is important that you carefully read the notice on registration that will be sent to you separately by the Registrar of the University before the end of the year. All the information that you need to decide whether you want to register yourself, or whether you rather want to register in GERGA at the Tygerberg campus during the welcoming programme, will be given in the notice. All the necessary dates, times, documentation required and other important information will be contained in the notice. The system for self-registration will be open from 15 to 28 January 2020.

Self-registration can be done from any computer with access to internet on www.mymaties.com. We wish to urge you to use this option, as you will know before leaving for Tygerberg whether you meet the admission requirements of the study programme to which you were provisionally admitted and, if so, that you were finally accepted and registered as student. You will then just have to acquire your student card in the time slot determined for your registration in GERGA. It is, however, important that you attend the full welcoming programme.

If you cannot or do not want to register yourself, you must ensure that you report for registration on Friday 24 January, at GERGA with all the necessary documents that are required (see further on for documents required). Please note that first-year students who have not registered on these dates and who have not obtained special permission to register late, will be charged a levy of R500.

If you do not register yourself, it is your responsibility to ensure that you comply with all the admission requirements of your study programme before you leave for Tygerberg. If you are going to register in GERGA, you must show the following original documents when you report for registration in the allotted time slot:

  1. Advice of Results of the 2018 NSC or IEB final school-leaving examination.
  2. NSC or IEB candidates who matriculated in 2017 or earlier: National Senior Certificate.
  3. Candidates from other school systems: School-leaving certificate/s and certificate of university exemption issued by the SA Matriculation Board.
  4. Candidates who studied at other universities: The documents mentioned in 2 or 3 as well as a full academic record and a certificate of good conduct issued by the university concerned.
  5. If you are not a South African citizen: a valid study permit.

All new first-year students for the BSc in Dietetics, BSc in Physiotherapy, B of Nursing and Midwifery and MB, ChB programmes, who cannot self-register will thus register on Friday 24 January, in the computer user area (GERGA), 3rd floor, Teaching Building (no 2 on the map), Tygerberg campus (see table below).

New first-year students for the B of Occupational Therapy and B of Speech-Language and Hearing Therapy programmes who cannot self-register will register at the Stellenbosch campus on Friday 24 January, between 14:00 and 16:00 in room 3008, Admin A (no 1 on the map), office of Ms Zenda Jansen.

Date and time of registration taking place according to residences and PSO (only BSc in Dietetics I, BSc in Physiotherapy I, B of Nursing and Midwifery and MB, ChB I students):

Registration – Friday 24 January

09:00 – 09:30 Huis Francie van Zyl
09:30 – 10:00 Huis Kerkenberg and Meerhoff
10:00 – 10:30 Hippokrates
10:30 – 11:45 *Osler (Private Students’ Ward)

*Osler refers to the Private Students’ Organisation (PSO) on Tygerberg campus (i.e. commuter students who do not live in residences).